Assault in Kent
Washington law lists four categories of assault that are ranked by their severity. If you're charged with an assault crime, a conviction will incur severe punishments that could make it hard to find work or even find a place to live. The Kent assault lawyers at the Law Office of Jason S. Newcombe understand that minimizing these penalties is important to you, as is avoiding incarceration and the acquisition of a criminal record.
If you or a loved one is facing an assault charge, contact one of our experienced Kent assault attorneys and find out about possible lines of defense to protect your future and your freedom. The following legal information about assault may help you better understand your charge.
- First Degree Assault is the most serious assault charge in Washington. It is a Class A felony and described as an assault using a deadly weapon with intent to cause death or bodily harm. If the intention is carried out resulting in injury or death, this charge could accompany other serious charges. A conviction for first degree assault can result in a life prison sentence. If you've been charged with first degree assault, contact our Kent assault lawyers without delay.
- Second Degree Assault is A Class B felony, and defined as an intentional assault that causes substantial bodily harm to another person. This crime is charged in cases where the assault included the use of a deadly weapon while someone was attempting to commit some other felony. This is also charged to individuals who harm a fetus is during an assault on a pregnant woman, or when strangulation was involved. A conviction could lead to 10 years in prison and fines totaling $20,000.
- Third Degree Assault is a Class C felony. This crime is charged to persons that cause bodily harm to another person through negligent use of a deadly weapon, or because of an assault on a nurse, doctor, or a law enforcement officer. A conviction incurs mandatory punishments of up to $10,000 in fines and five years in prison.
- Fourth Degree Assault is a gross misdemeanor, but is still considered a serious crime. It is charged in minor assault situations that sometimes include punching or kicking, as an example. A conviction can result in a $5,000 fine and up to a year in Kent jail.
Domestic violence situations are common all over the US, and Kent is no different. It is also one of the most prevalent causes of an assault charge. There are occasions where domestic violence charges are fabricated. If someone falsely accuses you of an assault during a domestic violence situation it is vital that you seek help from our qualified Kent assault attorneys.
It takes time to develop any legal defense, because an investigation of the facts is necessary. Our Kent assault lawyers understand that you can legally use force when defending yourself or another person, so we will need to speak with you about the details of your case. Call now for your free consultation and get started.