Assault in Kirkland
There are four categories of assault in Washington State laws that are ranked by their severity. If you are charged with an assault crime, a conviction will impose severe punishments that could make it hard to find a place to live or even a job. The Kirkland assault lawyers at the Law Office of Jason S. Newcombe realize that reducing these penalties is important to you, as is avoiding incarceration or the acquisition of a criminal record.
If you or a loved one finds yourself facing an assault charge, please contact one of our experienced Kirkland assault attorneys and find out about possible lines of defense designed to protect your freedom and your future. The following legal information concerning assault may help you to better understand your charge.
- First Degree Assault is the most serious assault charge in Washington, and is a Class A felony. It is described as an assault using a deadly weapon with intent to cause bodily harm or death. If this intention is carried out and results in injury or death, this charge could accompany other serious charges. A conviction for first-degree assault in Washington State could result in a lifelong prison sentence. If you have been charged with first-degree assault, please contact our Kirkland assault lawyers without delay.
- Second Degree Assault is a Class B felony. It is defined as an intentional assault that causes substantial bodily harm to another person. This crime is charged for cases in which the alleged assault included the use of a deadly weapon while trying to commit another felony crime. This charge is also given to individuals who harm a fetus is during an assault on a pregnant woman, or when strangulation was involved. A conviction of this charge could lead to up to 10 years in prison and fines totaling $20,000.
- Third Degree Assault is a Class C felony, and this crime is charged to persons that cause bodily harm to another person through negligent use of a deadly weapon. It is also charged if bodily harm results from an assault on a nurse, doctor, or a law enforcement officer. A conviction for this criminal charge incurs mandatory punishments of up to $10,000 in fines and up to five years in prison.
- Fourth Degree Assault is a gross misdemeanor. But, it is still considered a serious crime. It is charged in minor assault situations that include kicking or punching, for example. A conviction of this charge can result in up to $5,000 in fines and up to a year in Kirkland jail.
Domestic violence situations are very common all over the US. Kirkland is no different. Domestic violence situations are one of the most prevalent causes of an assault charge. However, there are occasions where domestic violence charges have been fabricated. If someone has falsely accused you of an assault during a domestic violence situation, it is vital that you seek help from our experienced Kirkland assault attorneys.
Because an investigation of the facts is necessary to create a quality defense, it will take time to develop your case. Our Kirkland assault lawyers know that you can legally use force when protecting yourself or another person, so we will need to speak with you about the details of your case. Please call us now for your free consultation, and let us help you develop a defense designed to resolve your