Assault in Gig Harbor
There are four categories of assault in Washington State. Te severity of the crime determines the category of the criminal charge. Never underestimate an assault charge because a conviction will impose punishments that affect your life in countless ways. The Gig Harbor assault attorneys at the Law Office of Jason S. Newcombe realize that your number one priority is minimizing the damage a conviction will cause. Every client we represent is eager to avoid incarceration and the acquisition of a criminal record, so this is often the brunt of our focus.
If you or someone you love is has been charged with assault, contact one of our experienced Gig Harbor assault lawyers without delay. We will listen to your version of the events and explore possible lines of defense while we work together to maintain your freedom while protecting your future. Pay close attention to the following information so that you may better understand your assault charge.
- First Degree Assault - This is the most serious assault charge in Washington State, and a conviction should be avoided at all costs. First Degree Assault is a Class A felony, and includes the use of a deadly weapon with intent to cause bodily harm, or even death. If this intention is carried out and the victim is killed, a first degree assault charge could accompany other serious criminal charges. The end result could be a lifelong prison sentence in the state of Washington. If you're charged with first-degree assault, contact our Gig Harbor assault attorneys without delay.
- Second Degree Assault - This crime is a Class B felony, and defined as an intentional assault that causes substantial bodily harm to another person. These charges are typically levied in cases where the alleged assault includes the use of a weapon while attempting to commit another felony crime. Someone may also be charged with second degree assault if they harm a fetus during an assault on a pregnant woman, or when strangulation is part of the crime. A conviction for second degree assault can result in up to 10 years in prison and fines of $20,000.
- Third Degree Assault - This crime is a Class C felony, and charged to those that cause bodily harm to another person through negligent use of a deadly weapon. Third degree assault may also be charged to someone that causes bodily harm on a nurse, doctor, or a law enforcement officer during an assault. A conviction for third degree assault incurs mandatory punishments that include five years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
- Fourth Degree Assault - While this crime is gross misdemeanor, it should never be underestimated. Fourth degree assault is charged to someone who commits a minor assault, which may include kicking or punching, as an example. A conviction for fourth degree assault in Gig Harbor may result in up to $5,000 in fines and up to a year in jail.
Domestic violence is common throughout the country and Gig Harbor is no different. Assault charges often accompany domestic violence situations, but sometimes these charges are entirely fabricated. If you've been falsely accused of assault during a domestic violence situation, you need professional legal representation from our experienced Gig Harbor assault attorneys.
Your lawyer will first want to investigate the facts of your case, and it will take time to work on a quality defense strategy. Our Gig Harbor assault lawyers will fight for the best possible result in your case. we understand that you are facing a potentially life-altering event, which is why we pursue every legal avenue to minimize the consequences of a conviction.
Please call our law office in Gig Harbor today for your own free consultation, and let us help you protect your freedom and avoid the pitfalls of an assault conviction.